Manar11162016SPRINGFIELD – Illinois Senate leaders may serve no longer than 10 years in those roles after a rule change co-sponsored by Senator Andy Manar (D-Bunker Hill) passed unanimously on the first day of the new legislative session Wednesday.

Members of the newly inaugurated 100th Illinois Senate voted to limit the number of terms the Senate president and Senate minority leader can serve.

“Legislative leaders are elected by Senators, not by voters at large. We took this step on Day 1 of the new legislative term because lawmakers on both sides of the aisle wanted this internal reform,” Manar said. “Our plan is to follow up at a later time with a constitutional amendment regarding term limits for lawmakers.”

Under the rule change, the Senate president and the Senate minority leader will be limited to five two-year terms each. The restrictions have the effect of law and do not require the approval of voters, the House or the governor.

The term limits took effect immediately. They do not apply to Illinois House leadership.

Category: Latest News

COVID19 Updates

Insulin Costs in IL

School Funding Reform


eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Contact Me

Springfield Office:
119A Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
Phone: (217) 782-0228

Decatur Office:
Macon County Office Building
141 S. Main St., Suite 502
Decatur, IL 62523
Phone: (217) 429-8110

Bunker Hill Office:
115 N. Washington, P.O. Box 636
Bunker Hill, IL 62014
Phone: (618) 585-4848