SPRINGFIELD – The Senate Education Funding Advisory Committee (EFAC), which has been tasked with reviewing the current public education funding distribution system, will meet Tuesday in Waterloo. The committee members will hear opening remarks from Lt. Gov. Sheila Simon and Waterloo Superintendent, James Helton. Discussion on Illinois’ Funding Formula will then be led by Mike Griffin, Senior Policy Analyst for the Education Commission of the States and Illinois Superintendent of Schools, Chris Koch.

The committee’s hearing will take place at 12:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 13, 2013, at the Waterloo High School, 505 E. Bulldog Blvd, Waterloo. 

Manar led the effort in the spring legislative session to create the Senate Education Funding Advisory Committee (SR0431). The committee is tasked with reviewing the current public education funding distribution system and submitting recommendations for improvement and increased equity to the full General Assembly by Feb. 1, 2014.

Manar is joined on the committee by the following Senate members: Assistant Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford (D–Maywood), Sen. Melinda Bush (D–Grayslake), Sen. Michael Noland (D–Elgin), Sen. Dave Luechtefeld (R–Okawville), Sen. Jason Barickman (R–Bloomington), Sen. Karen McConnaughay (R–St. Charles), and Sen. Sue Rezin (R–Morris). 


January 13, 2014

Location: Waterloo High School 505 E. Bulldog Blvd., Waterloo, IL 12:30 – 4:30 pm

12:30 p.m.                              Welcome: Superintendent James Helton

Opening Remarks: Committee Co-Chairs

12:40 – 1:00 p.m.                   Remarks: Lieutenant Governor, Sheila Simon

1:00 – 4:30 p.m.                     Discussion: Illinois’ Funding Formula led by Mike Griffith, ECS and Superintendent Chris Koch

Category: Latest News

COVID19 Updates

School Funding Reform


eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Contact Me

Springfield Office:
119A Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
Phone: (217) 782-0228

Decatur Office:
Macon County Office Building
141 S. Main St., Suite 502
Decatur, IL 62523
Phone: (217) 429-8110

Bunker Hill Office:
115 N. Washington, P.O. Box 636
Bunker Hill, IL 62014
Phone: (618) 585-4848