Pana pharmacy added as drop-off location


BUNKER HILL – State Senator Andy Manar is teaming up with local authorities again this year to host a convenient opportunity for residents to drop off unwanted and unused medications at area independent pharmacies.

The event will take place between 9 a.m. and noon on Saturday, April 27 at 13 pharmacies throughout Macoupin and Montgomery counties and in Pana.

This is the third year for the free, public event.

“Every year we put out the call for people to help us fight opioid abuse by turning in unwanted and unused medications. And every year they exceed our expectations,” Manar (D-Bunker Hill) said. “I invite people to once again take advantage of this opportunity to clean out those medicine cabinets and clear off those counter tops so we can keep opioids out of the hands of people who shouldn’t have them.”

Macoupin County drop-off sites:

  • Bunker Hill: Michelle’s Pharmacy, 809 S. Franklin St.
  • Carlinville: Michelle’s Pharmacy, 274 N. Broad St., and Sullivan’s Drugstore, 920 W. Main St.
  • Gillespie: Michelle’s Pharmacy, 120 S. Macoupin St., and Sullivan’s Drugstore, 113 S. Macoupin St.
  • Mount Olive: Sullivan’s Drugstore, 105 W. Main St.
  • Staunton: Sullivan’s Pharmacy, 101 E. Main St.
  • Virden: Sav-Mor Pharmacy, 105 E. Jackson St.

Montgomery County drop-off sites:

  • Hillsboro: Sullivan’s Drugstore, 325 S. Main St.
  • Litchfield: Sullivan’s Drugstore, 320 E. Union Ave.
  • Nokomis: Sav-Mor Pharmacy, 110 E. State St.
  • Raymond: Sullivan’s Drugstore, 801 N. Obannon St.

Pana drop-off site:

  • Sav-Mor Pharmacy, 34 S. Locust St., Pana

Accepted items: prescription drug waste, controlled drugs Schedule II-V, prescription and over-the-counter drugs, drugs from individuals and households, transdermal patches, liquid, ointment, and items containing sodium bicarbonate or effervescent compounds that must be dissolved with water first.

Not accepted: hazardous materials, hazardous pharmaceuticals, medical/infectious waste, sharps/needles/syringes, drugs or waste from hospitals and health facilities, radioactive items, ignitable materials and aerosols.

Co-hosting the events are Macoupin County Sheriff Shawn Kahl, Macoupin County State’s Attorney Jennifer Watson, Montgomery County Sheriff Rick Robbins and Montgomery County State’s Attorney Bryant Hitchings.

With continued opioid, heroin and prescription drug abuse throughout Illinois, including in rural communities, it is important that people responsibly dispose of expired, unused and unwanted prescription and over-the-counter medications, public health and law enforcement authorities warn.

April 27 is National Drug Takeback Day. For those who can’t participate that day, there are permanent, year-round drop-off sites at many local police departments, sheriff's offices and pharmacies.

Category: Latest News

IL 48 Food Banks

COVID19 Updates

School Funding Reform

Follow Sen. Manar

Facebook Twitter

eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Contact Me

Springfield Office:
119A Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
Phone: (217) 782-0228

Decatur Office:
Macon County Office Building
141 S. Main St., Suite 502
Decatur, IL 62523
Phone: (217) 429-8110

Bunker Hill Office:
115 N. Washington, P.O. Box 636
Bunker Hill, IL 62014
Phone: (618) 585-4848